Oriol Romero-Isart

Oriol Romero-Isart is awarded the QIPC Young Investigator Award 2015 for his seminal contributions to many interdisciplinary topics in quantum physics, this week in Leeds, Great Britain. This international award, valued at Euro 4,000, goes to successful junior scientists and is awarded every two years.

Rainer Blatt (Photo: C. Lackner)

Experimental physicist Rainer Blatt is awarded the international John Stewart Bell Prize for his pioneering research in quantum physics. The award ceremony will take place at the University of Toronto on 20 August 2015.

Ben P. Lanyon

Experimental physicist Ben P. Lanyon, a member of Rainer Blatt’s Quantum Optics and Spectroscopy group, was awarded the most important and prestigious Austrian research prize for junior scientists: The START Prize is valued at up to 1.2 million Euro and is to support successful researchers to establish or consolidate their own research group.

Photo: IQOQI/Knabl

Collaborating with Markus Greiner’s research group from Harvard University, Francesca Ferlaino’s team of phyisicsts has been preparing for a set-up to carry out new experiments with ultracold erbium atoms. Engineers working at the IQOQI have also been part of the preparations.

Gerhard Kirchmair und Oriol Romero-Isart

In the journal Physical Review Letters, Gerhard Kirchmair’s and Oriol Romero-Isart’s research team has presented a new proposal for the coupling between a micro-mechanic oscillator and a superconducting quantum circuit. The experiment will soon be implemented in Innsbruck, offering new insights into the quantum properties of macroscopic mechanical systems.