The Thesis Prize is awarded by the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (IQOQI Innsbruck) and recognizes graduates of PhD or Doctoral Studies from the University of Innsbruck that have excelled in the field of Quantum Physics.

The prize consists of a personal diploma and a cash award of 1000 Euros and will be awarded at a public event at the IQOQI.

Applications can be submitted until 31st October, 2024. Prerequisite for the appli- cation is having successfully defended the thesis or having successfully passed the “Rigorosum” in the academic year 2023/24 (1/10/2023 – 30/09/2024). Please include the following documents: thesis (link, if appropriate), graduation certificate, curriculum vitae and publication list, as well as a cover letter on one A4 page (pdfs to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).

Previous Awardee

2022 Maximilian Zanner
2021 Christine Maier
2020 Andreas Elben
2019 Simon Baier
2018 Petar Jurcevic
2016 Florian Meinert
2015 Albert Frisch
2014 Alexander Glätzle
2013 Philipp Schindler and Simon Stellmer