Harald Ritsch

For the first time, physicists from the University of Innsbruck have entangled two quantum bits distributed over several quantum objects and successfully transmitted their quantum properties. This marks an important milestone in the development of fault-tolerant quantum computers. The researchers published their report in Nature. 

Harald Ritsch

Supersolids are fluid and solid at the same time. Physicists from Innsbruck and Geneva have for the first time investigated what happens when such a state is brought out of balance. They discovered a soft form of a solid of high interest for science. As the researchers led by Francesca Ferlaino and Thierry Giamarchi report in Nature Physics, they were also able to reverse the process and restore supersolidity.

From left: Oriol Romero-Isart, Lukas Novotny, Markus Aspelmeyer and Romain Quidant

The Austrian-based quantum physicists Oriol Romero-Isart and Markus Aspelmeyer, together with Lukas Novotny and Romain Quidant from ETH Zurich, will receive one of the prestigious ERC Synergy Grants. Together they want to explore the limits of the quantum world by positioning a solid-state object containing billions of atoms at two locations simultaneously for the first time.

A cigar-shaped gas of magnetic atoms can support a roton mode: a modulation in the atom spatial organization at a given wavelength, forming a saddle on the energy mountain ridge of its elementary excitations.

A publication by the research group led by Francesca Ferlaino on the first-time verification of special quasiparticles in quantum gases was chosen by the editors of Nature Physics as one of their favorite papers of the past 15 years. To mark the anniversary of the journal, which was founded in 2005, the most important works in the various disciplines of physics are presented.

Brad Baxley, JILA

The US National Science Foundation announced yesterday that it is funding three new research institutes for quantum technologies. In a center for quantum science and technologies led by the University of Colorado and funded with a total of 25 million dollars, Peter Zoller's research group is the only international partner involved.

More Articles ...

Older Items

2019 19 2018 14 2017 16 2016 16 2015 11 2014 14 2013 32 Archive 193

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Learn more
I understand