Credit: Martin Vandory

In recognition of her outstanding achievements, Francesca Ferlaino was elected a Corresponding Member of the Mathematical and Natural Sciences Class of the Austrian Academy of Sciences.

Read more …Elected member of the ÖAW

Photo: Franz Oss

Quantum physicist Rudolf Grimm has been awarded an ERC Advanced Grant. This is the most highly endowed grant awarded by the European Research Council. The distinguished scientist and his team will receive around 2.5 million euros over the next five years for their research into novel superfluids.

Read more …Rudolf Grimm receives ERC Advanced Grant

Award winner Andreas Elben (Credit: private)

Andreas Elben from the research group of Peter Zoller receives the IQOQI Thesis Prize 2020. The award, which is endowed with 1,000 euros, is being presented for the seventh time this year and honors scientifically outstanding achievements in the field of quantum physics. The prize will be awarded today during a online ceremony.

Read more …IQOQI Dissertation Award for Andreas Elben


Quantum technologies are enabled by precise control of the state and interactions of individual quantum objects. Innsbruck physicists have now proposed a way to remotely control the state of individual quantum emitters. The underlying idea, developed by a research group led by Oriol Romero-Isart, is based on chirped light pulses. This novel approach could become a relevant asset in quantum computers and quantum simulation in the future.

Read more …Remote control for quantum emitters

Christine Maier, Rick van Bijnen and Christian Kokail

Christine Maier, Christian Kokail and Rick van Bijnen were awarded the Best Paper Award of the Austrian Academy of Sciences in an online ceremony yesterday. They received the award for a paper in the journal Nature, in which they together with colleagues presented a new method for simulating quantum phenomena.

Read more …Best Paper Award received